Distributing Fractions? What?

My algebra 1 kids were not having fun solving equations that involved fractions. Even one step problems that had fraction coefficients. As we moved on and began solving multi-step equations it was evident that most of them didn’t understand how to distribute a fraction. Especially if the number to be distributed (ok, I know, the coefficient) was a fraction with a numerator that wasn’t 1. Trying to think of something that might help them I started having the class draw rectangles, dividing them up into pieces, and taking 2/3 or 3/5 of what was in the rectangles. I wrote up the progression I used (sorry it’s not typed) and am including it below as a pdf. If you retype it more neatly, let me know! If I retype it I’ll update this post. I hope some other teachers can use it too and that it helps your kids! Distributing Fractions Progression 2

About debboden

I teach middle school math in Thousand Oaks, California. I love my job! When I'm not teaching, or thinking about teaching, I love to ride horses, read, take Zumba classes and be with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Fractions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

