Paper Slide Videos – More than Review!

I attended Twitter Math Camp! TMC15 was at Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, CA, and it was the best camp I’ve ever been to. Today we had a session of My Favorites, and Princess (@MathPrincessC) shared how she has her students make videos. It reminded me of when I had my students make Paper Slide Videos at the end of the year for review, but it really could be done anytime. The students were in groups of 3 or 4 and made a video on a specific topic, then they watched other videos (and took notes) as their review on those topics. I think they liked making the videos, and it was a good project on helping them organize their thoughts, but as I just was watching some of them I noticed a few errors that no one caught at the time, so they’re not perfect (but what is)?

Here is the link to the How To video I made: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDoppyJAKuA. If you’d like to you can see some of the videos the kids made on my site: https://sites.google.com/site/mrsbodensflippedmath/home/7cp-pre-algebra/paper-slide-review-videos. The worksheet I had for them to use as they watched the videos is on my school computer, if you would like it let me know in the comments and I’ll email it to you (or post it in the comments! Brilliant!).

Thank you to everyone at TMC15 for being so welcoming and friendly. And for reminding me that you don’t have to have an amazing lesson to post, little things are helpful too! I can’t wait for TMC16!

I got this idea from Dr. Lodge McCammon at NC State University, The Friday Institute for Educational Innovation and had flipped my classroom 2012/2013. I’m not flipping my class any more, but I think I’ll have the kids make Paper Slide Videos this year!

About debboden

I teach middle school math in Thousand Oaks, California. I love my job! When I'm not teaching, or thinking about teaching, I love to ride horses, read, take Zumba classes and be with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Review, Videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paper Slide Videos – More than Review!

  1. Sarah Harlan says:

    Great post! Great idea, should be attractive to students. I viewed and enjoyed one video – #11, Area, Perimeter, Surface Area & Volume. I might have seen one error at the end: 170 Pi (I don’t know where Pi is on my keyboard) ended up as 533.8 cm squared – where did the “squared” come from? Maybe I’ve forgotten my math.

    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

