Day 5, Tuesday August 30

Apparently I missed yesterday!

Kids wrote on the board their Three 3’s equations, and we discussed any that needed parenthesis. We also did the Designing Groupwork activity Rainbow Logic that Sarah Carter blogged about here. It was a minimum day (39 minute class periods) and I did an example with the classes so they didn’t have a long time to play, but I think it worked out fine (not everyone got to do their own pattern). There was a lot of good question asking – figuring out what row and column meant, and using the rules (the colors have to have a side in common) to figure out in which order the colored squares should go.

Homework was to draw number visuals for the numbers 1-10, they could totally use the ones from Day 2 of Week of Inspirational Math or draw their own, but they had to show the factors numerically and circled in their patterns also. (Since I’m writing this a day late I can share that some kids did addition as well as multiplication so we got to have a discussion on factors vs. addition (yes, I didn’t say addends, I probably should have)).

About debboden

I teach middle school math in Thousand Oaks, California. I love my job! When I'm not teaching, or thinking about teaching, I love to ride horses, read, take Zumba classes and be with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Groupwork. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

