Day 9, September 6

We started doing different things in the classes today – team building will just be a continuing task, not the focus. In algebra we started using the supplemental text today – CPM Algebra 1. I gave each student a card as they entered with either an equation, situation, graph, table or pattern on it and they were supposed to find the kids that had matching representations.  HAHAHAHAHAHA. Some of the kids have never graphed because they’ve moved up from Math 7CP. Others have graphed and made tables but haven’t thought it about it for a while. It was interesting in period 2. In period 3 I had them group by equation, graph, table etc., then went over what the y-intercept would look like with their types of card.  They helped each other figure out their y-intercepts while I talked about it with the kids with the situations. Then everyone “found” each other and sat in the new groups. I’ve made copies of the HW, and have the HW help link (every problem has hints/the answer if they need help on it!) on my website. It’s definitely going to be harder than the “middle school algebra book” but we won’t rush and it will definitely make them think! Yay productive struggle!!

We started with Ratios in Math 7CP and I showed these 2 videos that I love: “Bad Date” and “The TV Ratio Video” (that’s not the real name, just how I remember it!). Then we went to the Carnival, and decided which tickets would be the best to buy (Thank YOU, Robert Kaplinsky!) The kids figured out (for the most part) that $10 for 25 tickets is the best deal, but we didn’t get to do the unit rates,to prove it, so we’ll start tomorrow doing that…which leads perfectly into the Grocery Ads Unit Rates activity we’re doing tomorrow! We’re doing review for homework, I made a worksheet for the week math-7cp-review-hw-sept-6-9 and passed it out. Some kids asked if they could do it all tonight – okay, but don’t lose it! I need to put it on my website (I found out how during lunch).

7 Accelerated was very interesting. We worked from a MARS Activity: Building and Solving Linear Equations. I would start with x = 6, then say “add 3 to both sides of the equation.” Some kids had a hard time seeing that the next line would be x + 3 = 9. Or it would start x = 6, and we’d say “divide both sides by 3”, so the next line would be x/3 = 2.  We’d draw an arrow from one line to the next with what we did. We did it up to 4 steps. They evaluated 2 equations telling each other what had been done last, then next to last, etc. and then built their own equation. For homework I gave them 3 equations to “undo” as well as their review HW sheet (which is the same as 7CP’s). It will be interesting to see how the homework goes!

About debboden

I teach middle school math in Thousand Oaks, California. I love my job! When I'm not teaching, or thinking about teaching, I love to ride horses, read, take Zumba classes and be with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Equations, Patterns, Ratios & Proportions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 9, September 6

  1. Sarah Harlan says:

    Wow, using math in real life (tickets and groceries) – who would have thought that math had application outside the classroom! (HAHAHA). Great work, Babe! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

