Days 13 / 17, Sept. 14-16

Algebra was getting a little rushed because Tuesdays are all minimum days (39 minutes periods) and Wednesday was an assembly schedule (41 graphing-square-rootsminute periods) so we were carrying over a little from one day to the next because I wanted to have the groups come up and explain their parabolas and then their square root functions (Wednesday’s lesson). So the lesson that was just supposed to be on Thursday (graphing a cube root function and absolute value function) ended up being started on Thursday and finished on Friday. We graphed both functions and described the graphs – it’s pretty cool to see them be able to tell me what it looks like, what limitations each graph has on inputs or outputs, the symmetry, and what happens as x increases or decreases.

Math 7 finished the Gallery Walk for the Mullet Ratio, but we didn’t get to do the worksheet where they measure the mullets themselves and figure out the ratios. Thursday we went to the computer lab and did  Tile Pile. I was a little bummed because we were in the lab that didn’t have the new ceiling mounted projector hooked up to the teacher computer yet, so the kids couldn’t see what each other was doing, but it was still a hit. I need to go through and see how they did (and give them a classwork grade I think), but they all said they liked it and I think it helped some kids see the relationships (proportions without saying proportions) better.  Today we were supposed to take a quiz, but I forgot to tell them that yesterday, so we did what I called “What If I Don’t Want To Buy Them All?” Here’s the link to Dan’s Blog (Partial Product) and the Father of the Bride movie clip that’s classic.  Then, since I still had the grocery ads in the class, we did one more from the paper – Peet’s Coffee, 10 K-cups for $7.99, but I just want 8!

The kids then told me how they figured out their answers. I really liked how one boy found the unit price then subtracted that from the listed price. Most of the kids found the unit price then multiplied that by the number we wanted to buy.  Thanks Dan for that post (which I found using John Steven’s MTBoS Search Engine!)

Math 7 Accelerated is still working on solving equations. We’re just taking it slowly because there are so many questions, but I’m about done for now. The errors are typical – not multiplying with integers correctly, not distributing correctly and not combining like terms correctly. I think it’s time to pay attention to detail, so we’re going to have a test next week.

About debboden

I teach middle school math in Thousand Oaks, California. I love my job! When I'm not teaching, or thinking about teaching, I love to ride horses, read, take Zumba classes and be with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Equations, Graphing, Ratios & Proportions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Days 13 / 17, Sept. 14-16

  1. Sarah Harlan says:

    Very well done, all of these classes. I hope your new ceiling mounted projector in the lab is hooked up to the teacher computer soon; it looks like you were able to go ahead without it this time, good for you! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

